1. HOME
  2. Annual Meetings
  3. APRSAF-24
  4. Photos


Day 1 & Day 2 : Working Group Sessions

Two-day working group sessions of APRSAF-24 began on Tuesday, November 14 at Sheraton Grand Bangalore Hotel at Brigade Gateway, India. More than 400 participants so far have joined the sessions.

Space Applications Working Group

Space Technology Working Group

Space Environment Utilization Working Group

Space Education Working Group

Joint Session – STWG and SEUWG

Evening Session: Space for Future Society

Day 3: Plenary Session

On November 16, Plenary Session was opened with speeches by General Co-chairs.

  • Opening Remarks
    Mr. A. S. Kiran Kumar
    Secretary, Department of Space (DOS), India / Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)

  • Opening Remarks
    Ms. Mami Oyama
    Deputy Director General, Research and Development Bureau, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan (MEXT), JAPAN

Following the speeches, Country Reports, which focused on the space policy, were presented.

Country Reports
  • Mr. Masazumi Miyake
    Director, International Relations and Research Department, JAXA, JAPAN
  • Dr. P.G. Diwakar
    Scientific Secretary


  • Mr. Mark Todd
    Civil Space Regulation, Industry Growth Division
    Department of Industry, Innovation and Science, AUSTRALIA

  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Djamaluddin

  • Mr. Avi Blasberger
    Director General
    Israel Space Agency (ISA), ISRAEL

  • Mr. Koji Saeki
    Director General for International Cooperation, National Space Policy Secretariat
    Cabinet Office, JAPAN

  • Mr. Nurguzhin Marat Rakhmalievich
    Ministry of Defense and Aerospace Industry, KAZAKHSTAN

  • Dr. Jong Bum Kim
    Director of Policy & Cooperation Division, Future Strategy Head Office

  • Dr. Noordin Ahmad
    Director General

  • Engr. Raul Sabularse
    Deputy Executive Director

  • Dr. Kwoh Leong Keong

  • Dr. Ammarin Pimnoo
    Project manager, National Space Exploration

  • Mr. Naser Al Rashedi
    Director of Space Policy & Regulations

  • Ms. Neevy Laningham
    Asia Pacific Civil Space Policy & ITER Cooperation
    U.S. Department of State (DOS), USA

  • Mr. Garvey McIntosh
    NASA Asia Representative, USA

  • Dr. Dao Ngoc Chien
    Deputy Director General, Department of High Technology
    Ministry of Science and Technology, VIETNAM

In addition to activity reports by countries, there was a session “Space Cooperation in Asia-Pacific Region”.

Space Cooperation in Asia-Pacific Region

  • Moderated by Ms. Simonetta Di Pippo,
    Director of UN Office of Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA)


  • Mr. Chris Lee
    Head of International Partnerships, UKSA, UK

  • Ms. Erdenee Byambasuren
    Senior Official, Department of Strategic Planning and Program Management, APSCO

  • Dr. Kwoh Leong Keong
    Vice Chair, ASEAN-SCOSA

  • Mr. Piyush Srivastava
    Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Joint Secretary (BIMSTECH & SAARC), Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India

  • Dr. Shashank Khurana
    Event Manager of AP-SGW2017, Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC)

  • Dr. Werner Balogh
    Chief, Space Applications Section, IDD, UNESCAP

  • Mr. Jean-Yves Le Gall
    President, International Astronautical Federation (IAF)
    *The presentation was delivered on Nov. 17

Day 4: Main Plenary Session

On November 17, Main Plenary Session was held.

Key Note Speech

Mr. A. S. Kiran Kumar, Secretary of Department of Space (DOS) / Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), INDIA

Summary of APRSAF-23

Engr. Raul Sabularse, Deputy Executive Director of DOST-PCIEERD, PHILIPPINES

Executive Committee (ExCom) Activity Report

Mr. Masazumi Miyake, Chairman of APRSAF Executive Committee (ExCom)

Summary Reports by Working Groups & Initiatives

Space Applications Working Group, Sentinel Asia, and SAFE Initiative

Space Technology Working Group

Space Environment Utilization Working Group, Kibo-ABC Initiative

Space Education Working Group

Heads of Agency Session

Moderated by Dr. Chiaki Mukai, Technical Counselor, JAXA, JAPAN, Chair of the Scientific and Technical Subcommittee (STSC) of the COPUOS
Panelists included (left-to-right):
-Mr. Vu Viet Phuong, Vice Director General of VNSC, VIETNAM
-Dr. Anond Snidvongs, Executive Director of GISTDA, THAILAND
-Mr. Sergey Saveliev, Deputy Director General of ROSCOSMOS, RUSSIA
-Dr. Noordin Ahmad, Director General of ANGKASA, MALAYSIA
-Mr. A.S. Kiran Kumar, Chairman of ISRO, INDIA
-Dr. Naoki Okumura, President of JAXA, JAPAN
-Mr. Avi Blasberger, Director General of ISA, ISRAEL
-Prof. Dr. Thomas Djamaluddin, Chairman of LAPAN, INDONESIA
-Dr. Chin Young Hwang, Executive Director of Future Strategy Head Office, KARI, KOREA

Special Session: "Space Technology for Enhanced Governance and Development" (organized by ISRO)

Moderated by Dr. Y.V.N. Krishna Murthy, Director, National Remote Sensing Center, ISRO, INDIA
Speakers included:
-Mr. Shantanu Bhatawdekar, Director, Earth Observation System, ISRO, INDIA
-Mr. S Surendra, Additional Chief Town Planner, TCPO, Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs, INDIA
-Dr. Shibendu S. Ray, Director, National Crop Forecasting Centre, INDIA
-Mr. Mangsatabam Iboyaima Meitei, Director (S&T), North Eastern Council, MoDONER, INDIA
-Mr. H Rayappa, Associate Director, Satellite Communication & Navigation Prog. Office ISRO HQ., INDIA
-Ms. Sneha Kandula, Deputy Project Director, Command Area Development Authority, Government of Telangana, INDIA

Special Session on Space Policy

Moderated by Dr. RR Navalgund, Honorary Distinguished Professor, ISRO, INDIA
Panelists included:
-Dr. Dao Ngoc Chien, Deputy Director-General, Department of High Technology Ministry of Science and Technology, VIETNAM
-Dr. Anond Snidvongs, Executive Director, GISTDA, THAILAND
-Dr. Noordin Ahmad, Director General, ANGKASA, MALAYSIA
-Dr. Chin Young Hwang, Executive Director, Future Strategy Head Office, KARI, KOREA
-Mr. Koji Saeki, Director General for International Cooperation, National Space Policy Secretariat, Cabinet Office, JAPAN
-Mr. Agus Hidayat, Director, Center for Aerospace Policy Studies, LAPAN, INDONESIA
-Mr. K. Sethuraman, Director, Satellite Communication and Navigation Progroamme Office, ISRO, INDIA

Space Exploration Session

Moderated by Dr. Anil Bhardwaj, Director, Physical Research Laboratory, ISRO, INDIA, and Ms. Mika Shozaki, Director, Office for Space Utilization Promotion, MEXT, JAPAN
Panelists included:
-Dr. S. Seetha, Programme Director, Space Science Office, ISRO, INDIA
-Dr. Koichi Wakata, ISS Program Manager, Astronaut of JAXA, JAPAN
-Dr. Gi Hyuk Choi, Director, Convergence Technology Research Center, KARI, KOREA
-Mr. Sergey Saveliev, Deputy Director General, ROSCOSMOS, RUSSIA
-Mr. Abdulla Al Marar, Space Technology Senior Specialist, Department of Space Missions, UAESA, UAE

Space Leaders’ Roundtable

APRSAF Activities & Related Projects

On Monday, November 13, three sub-sessions were conducted as below:

SAFE Initiative Workshop
Kibo-ABC Initiative Workshop
Space Policy Workshop
Water Rocket Event

On November 11 and 12, Water Rocket Event was held at Kendriya Vidyalaya, NAL Campus. Total 57 students from 12 countries participated in the event and enjoyed the launch competition with plastic bottle rockets made by themselves.


News Mails

Visit the archive of APRSAF's previous mail magazine.


Latest issue of APRSAF Newsletter
> No.31 <March 2020>